Simon Says Stamp Challenge: Dies and/or Punches PLUS GIVEAWAY

Welcome to another Simon Says Stamp challenge! I ADORE these weekly challenges! I love the themes as well as looking at the entries because I get such inspiration from them. I decided to go a totally different route with my card working with colors I rarely work with. I used the Simon Says Stamp Exclusive die/stamp combo packed called Where the Home Is! You can purchase this as a set or individually… I lined my black panel with various rolls of washi tape and then die cut and stamped the images from the set using this fabulous white ink! I had some fun Uni-Ball colored pens in my stash and thought it would look pretty cool against the black card stock and to my surprise, they matched the washi tape perfectly!

GIVEAWAY:  I love the Simon Says Stamp exclusive line! The dies are fantastic! How about a chance to try one of your own? I am giving away the exclusive Allegro Corner die cut to one lucky winner. Just leave a comment telling me what your favorite family FALL tradition is and I’ll choose a winner….

The wonderful Heidi is offering up a $50 gift certificate to the Simon Says Stamp online store!!!!!! HELLO!!!!!! That’s awesome!!!

Be sure to head on over the Simon Says Stamp challenge blog and take a look at the rest of the design team inspiration. Be prepared to have your socks blown off!

Photobucket

Thanks so much for stopping by!!!! :)

Simon Says Stamp
Supplies:

93 thoughts on “Simon Says Stamp Challenge: Dies and/or Punches PLUS GIVEAWAY

  1. Colorful card. I like your use of washi tape and the pens on the black card stock.
    Favorite fall tradition is buying apples, apple fritters and apple cider from a local farm.

  2. Like the paper piecing & the chalk board look of your sentiment area. My fav Autumn things are the pumpkin carving my hubby does, Octoberfest that homeowners association has and temps are cooler for tandem bike riding.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”

  3. I haven’t tried my washi on black. That is very creative! Favorite autumn tradition – walking through the local arboretum and taking lots of pictures to showcase all those beautiful colors!

  4. I love the washi tape, this is a gorgeous card. I guess I will have to give in and get some of this lovely stuff.

  5. Turkey, Turkey and more Turkey… I don’t cook it until that time so I look forward to having some! haha…. Tks for opportunity to win some SSS dies… I love all of them!

  6. Great card, love the black panel & washi.
    We don’t have any regular fall traditions, the closest thing I suppose is collecting conkers for the school’s nature table, I seem to be doing that a lot over the past few years 🙂

  7. Superb card, really love how you’ve used the washi tape, very creative. We don’t really have any fall traditions as such and a young family, in the UK it’s more just a season, which I adore as it’s time to cuddle up warm together on the sofa as the days n nights grow cold and we do like seeing the leaves changing colour and falling down x slipping on them is another matter x

  8. Hi Laurel ~ Firstly, I want to tell you how much I LOVE your card! You always create such fun and unique projects that inspire me! I also want to say thank you so much for a chance to win…it is so generous of you! Off to check out the rest of the DT projects 🙂

  9. Love the chalkboard look of your card! My favorite Fall holiday is what my family calls OctoberFeast where all family gets together for food,fun and laughter before the busy holidays when its hard to get out and see each other.Thanks for the opportunity!

  10. I love to carve pumpkins with the boys! SO fun to what them scoop out the goop and then choose what pattern they want (which can take a while). They have to rotate the parent each year. Daddy apparently carves better than mommy.

  11. My favorite Fall tradition is taking time every nice Fall Day to sit outside on the porch rocker and watch the trees turn color and the leaves fall. Usually I have to share my lap with a very spoiled wire hair terrier, and sometimes my papilion.

  12. What a great way to use the washi tape…and love the uniball coloring!! My favorite Fall tradition is definitely Halloween! I used to make my kid’s costumes from scratch every year and now I’m making my grand-daughter’s!

  13. Very interesting card Laurel. LOVE the sentiment:)
    I’m addicted to the EXCLUSIVE dies from SSS..they are so unique.
    Our family FALL tradition would be the baking of my mile high apple pies..There is an orchard around the corner from our house here in the woods..so we pick fresh apples weekly and bake ’em up:)

  14. Great washi tape background. I never gave washi tape much of a thought…now I’m thinking about it! Thanks for the inspiration.
    Although my grandparents have been gone for many years, we still head up to the mountains for apples every fall…best apples ever!

  15. Have only just purchased my first rolls of washi tape – looking forward to having a play!! Fall (or Autumn down here in Aus) isn’t really anything big.. we don’t have any traditions. My family owns an orchard so picking apples is a chore, not an adventure 🙂 we don’t do Halloween or pumpkins and raking the Autumn leaves is yet to happen as we’ve only just planted some large Lipstick Maples.. next year the kids can jump in the piles of leaves!! 🙂
    Thanks for the chance to win, love your card with the black x

  16. Great card! Love the die set you used and the washi tape!
    Favorite fall tradition… picking our pumpkins from the garden and putting them on the front porch!
    The Allegro Corner Die is gorgeous… so delicate!
    DeniseB
    deniseb777ATgmailDOTcom

  17. Love your card! That house die cut with the washi tape background is so fun! THe thing I love the most about Fall is that I get to wear my wooly sweaters and slippers!!!

  18. What a cute card, love the house die cut, and fabulous background, very effective…my favourite season is Autumn [fall] and I love to rake up all the leaves with the G/children, then we all throw ourselves into them and throw them at each other..fabulous fun

    Luv CHRISSYxx

  19. I’d have to say gorging on yummy foods until RIGHT BEFORE WE POP is my favorite 🙂 sharon dot gullikson at gmail dot com

  20. Just spending time together in front of a turkey I love this die set…. So I had to get it…. Lovin your card

  21. What a cute little house, and I love the white accents! The washi tape indeed makes for a great background, and I love the sentiment too! My favorite fall tradition is bringing on the pumpkins! Making pies, pumpkin spice coffee or pumpkin bread – I can hardly wait for pumpkins to be ready for picking!

  22. Fab card hun love the house and the washi tape background it’s gorgeous, we don’t really celebrate fall here in Ireland but I don love when the leaves all fall on the ground in big piles and the kids I mind go walking well jumping in them lol then we take some home and make impressions of them onto paper lol

    Hugs Mandy xxx

  23. Love your WASHI background, very cute! Our favorite fall activity is actually camping, its actually gorgeous in the mountains in Oregon in Sept & Oct and the crowds are gone!

  24. We love taking our girls to the local garden centre to join other children in pumpkin carving ! We love lighting it when we get home.

    I love your card, love what you have done with the washi tape

    Hugs

    Jo x

  25. The only fall habit- not tradition – that we have around here, in Greece, is the collecting of olives that happenss at that time! something I really love, because all of the family is going to the field…and is just having a whole pic nic for 1 or 2 weeks!!Sorry for my mistakes… Of course I love your card!!

  26. OH and Laurel!! our favorite Family Fall tradition is to all go Antelope hunting together:) My family has to be so patient with me as I’m the Lucille Ball of hunting:) It’s a hoot and a blessing:) be blessed
    ~Beyond Measure
    Tammy

  27. cute card using washi! We don’t really have any fall tradition but hb & I would go for walks & enjoy the fall foliage.

  28. Great idea to use the washi tape like you did – it looks awesome! Also, thanks for offering the die giveaway!

  29. Love how you used the washi tape here!
    Our fall tradition is to take a hike in the woods on Thanksgiving day. We did that this past Monday and the leaves were gorgeous! Thanks for the chance to win that gorgeous die!

  30. Super cute card, Laurel! I am more and more tempted by this set… maybe soon! Our family’s favorite Fall tradition is getting ready for halloween – we go to a local orchard and get hay bales, corn stalks, pumpkins and decorate the house with a fall look early in October. The most fun, though, is gathering all the Halloween decorations in the garage in preparation for the 31st. Nothing goes up until after the neighborhood kids are home from school. When they head out for trick or treating, there’s a magical transformation. It all gets torn down that night so the next day it feels like it was just a dream… 🙂

  31. Wonderful card! I love your choice of colors. My favorite family tradition is hiking. Love to walk in nature and enjoy the splendid fall colors.

  32. This is so beautifully designed. Loving your creativity. Wishing you a wonderful day.
    Out favorite tradition is to eat a lot of pumpkinsoup and work some X-Mas Cards
    hugs hellerlittle

  33. What a lovely vibrant and funky card! 🙂 I have quite a few family Fall traditions as this is one of my favourite seasons! The first starts around the end of september and this is making apple crumbles with my children with the apples that our neighbour allows us to take that hang over into our garden from their tree. Even though they are mostly all teenagers now they still love to do this and then we normally sit outside eating it around a fire pit in the evening and disscussing how the year has gone now the the nights are growing darker and the year is coming to and end, we disscuss what we are proud of that we have achieved this year and the things we feel havent gone well that we want to put a close to, we finish on a good note with what we still wish to achieve before the year is out as the days here start to become colder and darker. Its simular to an autumn equinox celabration but more a family tradition that helps us bond and be thankful for all our blessings. I also go Halloween mad in October and make alsorts of things all the way through the month either on my own or with my children from Halloween decorations, costumes, pumpkin carving and making creep food and treats ready for Halloween night. And this is before I then throw a party for all mine and my childrens friends on or near to Halloween. ……..Sorry for the long post hehehe 😉 x

  34. Laurel, your die cut house looks fabulous on this fun layered card. TFS! Hugz, ~ Rose
    Not a cold weather lover, fall is a time to walk indoors and get an early start on shopping for holiday gifts.

  35. Gorgeous card!
    We don’t have any autumn holidays here in Bulgaria but really
    I but really like to go on walks through the fallen leaves.And collect some nuts and leaves for decorations.
    Thanks for the chance!

  36. What a cute little house. Family Fall tradition would be walking through the woods and enjoying some quality family time together away from every day distrations and the tv, lol.
    Hugs Tracy x

  37. Our family is blessed to be within 20 minutes of each other. We go to the same church, and our favorite ever fall tradition is the last trip to our cottage on CedarLake in QC CA. When my Granparents were alive we always had Thanksgiving in Maniwaki or the cottage. Thanks for asking! The detail in your card is lovely. I only heard of Washi tape this week and asked a friend today what it was. Old in years but new to the papercraft community. Blessings Carole
    PS I would love it if you joined me.

  38. Cute card with the where your heart is stamp set!!!! Love the dp’s you have used. My fave family fall tradition is gathering with family to celebrate all the october birthdays–usually a theme of some sort. In past we did birthday costume parties(fun fun fun)……this year we had a surprise reveal as our oldest is pregnant and brought cupcakes with designated color to share if it is a boy or girl. The center was BLUE!!!!!!
    Yea a grandson is coming in March!!!!
    Thanks for chance at die–Love it!!!
    Hugz

  39. Fabulous use of the Washi Tape to create the background for you great little house die cut. I love all these new dies – one can never have enough. Our family isn’t big on Halloween, but in Fall we do take time to rake up the leaves all together to stuff into big pumpkin bags for decoration. It usually takes longer because of all the jumping into the leaf piles. The girls are both in college now so I miss this time together.

  40. Stunning card!
    Every detail is gorgeous.
    The whole thing is PERFECT!!
    My favorite Fall thing is making Pumpkin Cookies and bringing Pumpkin Coffee into work, for our co worker, nurses, appreciated night!!!
    Such a fun get together!!
    Hugs
    Lorianna

  41. A beautiful card, Laurel! My family has always enjoyed the cider mill! A day at the mill,with the super sweet smells of cider being pressed and the fresh donuts……so yummy!! It always makes for a wonderful memory
    ((HUGS))
    Cheryl First
    aka Cafexpressions

  42. love the color combo! black and teal – must try soon~
    favorite fall tradition? we don’t really get a “fall” here in So.Cali, but Thanksgiving lunch and then Black Friday is always a big tradition at home. 🙂

  43. I love that card, great details, never tried washi tape but the more I see it the more I like it! I’m English and live in America so the whole celebrate Fall thing was new to me, but I love all the pumpkins and garden mums, love going for walks at this time of year and have been enjoying decorating my home a little!!

    Hugs
    Brenda

  44. Cute card, love the washi and the black. I live in Australia in subtropical Queensland we don’t really have fall, but we do grow pumpkins (when we don’t have hideous wet seasons like the last couple of years and they all rot on the ground or not long after picking). cheers Linda

  45. Pingback: Winter card just for the hang of it « Paper Crafts by Laurel

Leave a Reply

